How I write: Day number six

A few notes about today:

Today wasn’t the greatest as far as how I felt.  I dealt with a lot of fatigue issues which was frustrating for me and my family, but life happens and learning how to write in the midst of it is one of the reasons why I started this journal and why I’m being open about a lot of things I usually don’t like to share on a public blog. (haha!)

Also, writing is a funny thing.  For most of us who do it, we spend a lot of time on it with no guarantee of ever making a dime.  I know I haven’t turned a profit yet and I’ve been doing this (indie publishing) for over a year. So you can imagine how a spouse must feel when we are cloistered away writing and there is nothing to show for it.  As much as I want to be able to complete a book this month, it’s not as important as time spent with my family.  If I find myself getting crabby with my spouse or kids because I’m not meeting some word count, it’s simply time for me to stop, take a deep breath and remember what’s really important in life.  Now, if I was getting paid and this was my job, that would be a totally different story and there would be different boundaries set up for my writing time/ job.  But until that happens, remaining super flexible is key to me and my family’s well-being.

Okay, that said, here’s what happened today:

11: 05 amVery late start today.  After dropping the kids off school I just couldn’t keep my eyes open.  I had a full nights sleep but woke up feeling beat up, sore and stiff.  (Husband thinks I might have sleep apnea, which would be a nice addition to thyroid issues.  Except, it’s not.). So, laid down on the couch and didn’t wake up until 11.  Trying not to get super frustrated or down on myself about it, but I am anyway.  Wrote 220 words.  blech.  Leaving to pick up daughter.

12:05Back home.  Feeling much better about life now.  As much as I hate having wasted the whole morning falling asleep on the couch – I feel great now.  Also, I remembered that I used to feel as crappy as I did this morning every day until I went to the doctor and modified my diet.  Now, it’s just down to a couple of days a month.  So, I’m going to be happy about that and move on.  Going to write until 12:30 then run some errands.

12:30Only got in 100 words.   Daughter needed more hugs than usual. (maybe I did too. haha)  Time to run errands.  When I get back, I’ll be hitting the keyboard hard.  I need to try to reach my word count by 4 pm because husband and I have planned yard work this evening.

2:30Back from errands.  Time to get serious.

3:30Wrote 638.  Was hoping for at least 1,000, but oh, well.  Going to take a small break and head out to pick up son from bus stop.

4:40Came home and wrote 300 more.  It’s getting pretty hot inside the house and now me and hubby are going to pull some weeds for a little bit.  

6:30 pmDinner.  Hubby and I work out a little conflict, both of us are frustrated with my fatigue issues, writing and balancing time with family. ( Message received, hon!)

9:10: pm  After dinner, struggled with keeping my eyes open –  again!  Hubby took the daughter to the store while son stayed home with me.  I laid down for about twenty minutes while he played a video game.  I didn’t sleep, but just laying there seemed to give me a second wind.  I ended up writing some more and put down 700 words.

Also, hubby and daughter surprised me with flowers, planted them in our big planters for an early Mother’s Day gift!  Awwwww!  Son helped plant them, too!  Can’t forget his contribution.

So, totals so far for the day are 1,658.

See you tomorrow!

Cheers!

~R

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, writing

Leave a comment