Revision is a Mother B! Or so I have been told.

I’ve been warned about revision.  Warned that it’s where the real work begins, warned about the years spent perfecting every word, sentence and cautioned about the plot holes and tangles and dead ends.

Woe! Woe to you who are about to embark on revision!  Dark days are ahead of you, clouds and shadows that are dim and dark and super dark and dim.  Don’t say we didn’t warn you!

It’s not that bad, guys.  Chill out.

And I’m doing some heavy lifting on my first revision pass.  I got two characters I’m having to combine into one, I’ve got another character which started out to be only a minor character getting a full makeover, a name change and his own character arc.  Two other characters are needing name changes and did the whole Find ____ & Replace with ____ and now when I read ahead I find myself confused, wondering who these people are!  And through it all battling the ever-present waves of self-doubt and pity that plague every writer that has ever touched a pen.

It’s not the end of the world.  It’s just plain, old-fashioned hard work and determination.

But just in case you go off thinking I’m some bastion of self-discipline and I somehow got it all together, just look at this well-worn couch sitting right next to me.  I call it my floppin’ couch where I fall on it in the most dramatic fashion and throw my head back and bemoan how hard it is to be a writer.  

But my floppin’ couch has an egg timer and I only get five minutes to wring my hands before I have to get up and get on with it.

And besides, it doesn’t take that long to realize that nobody really cares about the writing process anyway.  It’s a lonely hobby!  And if I’m fortunate enough to be able to convince some poor soul to invest forty hours of their time and energy to even read what I managed to write – I’ll consider it a success.

R.

2 Comments

Filed under fictional, Uncategorized, writing

2 responses to “Revision is a Mother B! Or so I have been told.

  1. Tough gig the editing part. I probably spent as much time editing my debut novel, The Hunter Inside, as I did writing it!

    The truth is, I could have just gone on and on editing, without ever being 100% happy with it. There comes a point though where you have to let your baby go!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

